Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Council membership

The Council comprises the Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, and twenty-three other members. The members comprise: (a) four elected heads of Colleges; (b) four elected Professors or Readers; (c) eight other elected members of the Regent House; (d) three student members (the Presidents of CUSU and the GU, and one elected student member); and (e) four appointed (external) members


 The Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor (Chair)


 Class (a) - Heads of Colleges


 Class (b) - Professors and Readers


 Class (c) - Members of the Regent House


 Class (d) - Student members


 Class (e) - External members


 Council Secretary and attending officers


​The following University Officers also attend Council meetings:

The Academic Secretary: Dr Mike Glover
The Director of Finance: Mr David Hughes
The Chief Financial Office: Mr Anthony Odgers
The University Draftsman: Ms Ceri Benton
The Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education): Professor Graham Virgo

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors, the Director of External Affairs and Communications, the Senior Governance Manager, and two Proctors also attend. Other officers and individuals may attend on request.