Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors

PVCs, 2022-23: Professors Andy Neeley, Anne Ferguson-Smith, Kamal Munir, David Cardwell and Bhaskar Vira


The Vice-Chancellor is assisted by a maximum of five Pro-Vice-Chancellors with whom institutional leadership is shared.

Each of the Pro-Vice-Chancellors has distinctive portfolios in a particular area, such as resource management, research, and international strategy. The Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor leads the team but all the PVCs have a high level of committee involvement and engage closely with the Heads of the six Schools and the major non-academic institutions of the University.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors are usually also appointed Deputy Vice-Chancellors and may undertake certain duties and ceremonial activities on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor.

Pro-Vice-Chancellors are nominated by the Council after consultation with the General Board and on the recommendation of a nominating committee. Appointment to the office is for three years and holders may be reappointed but are prohibited by Statute from holding the office for more than six years (eight in exceptional circumstances) in total. 

Current postholders:

The current Pro-Vice-Chancellors are:

Pro-Vice-Chancellor – Strategy and Planning:
Professor David Cardwell

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and International Partnerships:
Professor Anne Ferguson-Smith

Pro-Vice-Chancellor – University Community and Engagement:
Professor Kamal Munir​​​​​

Senior Pro-Vice-Chancellor – Enterprise and Business Relations:
Professor Andy Neely

Pro-Vice-Chancellor – Education
Professor Bhaskar Vira