Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In


Acta: The enactment of a Grace, once approved by the Regent House or Senate.

Ballot of the Regent House: A vote on a matter of significant University business in which all members of the Regent House can take part.

Board of Scrutiny: The ‘watchdog’ body of the University. It scrutinises the Annual Report of the Council, the accounts of the University, and any Report of the Council proposing allocations from the Chest. It also has the right to report to the University on any matter falling within the scope of this scrutiny, and to examine the policies of the University and the arrangements made for the implementation of those policies

Chancellor: The Chancellor is the constitutional head of the University, and is elected by the Senate; usually a renowned public figure.

Congregation: A meeting of the Regent House – primarily now for the conferment of degrees, and for the discussion of Reports.

Council: The principal executive and policy-making body of the University. It has general responsibility for the University’s administration, the planning of its work and the management of its resources.

Discussions: The forum in which members of the University can comment on University business by giving short speeches on matters published in Reports. Discussions are usually held in the Senate House every fortnight.

Fly-sheet: A written statement outlining the views of Regent House members on questions which are the subject of a ballot; fly-sheets are submitted to the Registrary and published alongside the voting papers.

General Board of the Faculties: The body responsible for the academic and educational policy of the University. It is accountable to the Council.

Grace: A formal recommendation concerning University business, sanctioned by the Council and published in the Reporter.

Head of House (Master/Mistress/President/Principal/Provost/Warden): The senior member, or head of each College, is known generically as the Head of House. Heads of House may either be academics, and hold the post concurrently with another position within the University, or they may be from outside the world of academia but with a distinguished career in another area.

Matriculation: Registration as a member of the University.

Non-placet: A vote against a Grace (literally, ‘it does not please’).

Notice: A straightforward announcement, made by the Council, or another authorised body, to inform the University of any changes in procedures or regulations or just about events of interest, and published in the Reporter.

Placet: A vote of assent for a Grace (literally, ‘it is pleasing’).

Proctor: Elected annually by the Regent House. Their main duties are to represent the interests of Regent House members, and to maintain discipline.

Pro-Vice-Chancellor: There are five Pro-Vice-Chancellors, who support the Vice-Chancellor; each Pro-Vice-Chancellor has responsibilities in a particular area, such as Planning and Resources, Research, Education, International Strategy and Institutional Affairs.

Regent House: The principal electoral constituency and governing body of the University; membership is largely comprised of academic and senior administrative staff of the University and Colleges.

Registrary: The principal administrative officer of the University, and the head of the University’s administrative staff; secretary to the Council.

Report: Items for consideration by the University are presented in the form of a Report to the University, which is then brought forward to a Discussion.

Reporter: The official journal of the University, for the publication of items that are integral to the progression of University business.

Senate: All members of the University who are members of the Regent House and/or who hold any Master’s or Doctor’s degree, or the degree of Bachelor of Divinity, of the University, and the Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor.

Statutes and Ordinances: The constitutional 'legislative' framework by which the University is governed.

Topic of concern: A particular area of concern or interest can be brought forward for discussion in the Senate-House if so requested by ten members of the Regent House.

Vice-Chancellor: The principal academic and administrative head of the University, appointed by the Council for a period of up to seven years.