Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Cambridge is a Collegiate University, with many of its functions and responsibilities carried out by autonomous, or semi-autonomous, bodies that work co-dependently in pursuit of its mission and core values.

With its 31 Colleges, 100 plus Faculties and Departments, and a wide range of other institutions, centres and facilities, including libraries, museums and gardens, Cambridge has a diverse and complex structure that has evolved over many centuries. The University is a democratic, self-governing institution and its governance and organizational structures are both distinct and integral to each other.

Schools, Faculties and Departments

The Schools each form an administrative grouping of Faculties, departments and other institutions.

The University Offices

CamUni_Committee-Hub_Homepage_Turquoise_03.jpg From finance and HR to IT services, estate management and teaching and learning support. The University offices support every aspect of the University's functions.

The Colleges

The Colleges are governed by their own statutes and regulations, but are integral to the make-up of the University of Cambridge.

Non-School Institutions

The Non-School institutions of the University like the University Library and Botanic Garden provide crucial services in support of the University's mission and core objectives.