Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Schools, Faculties and Departments

There are three principal groups responsible for delivering teaching and research and the administration of those activities within the University - Schools, Faculties and Departments.

The Schools

There are six Schools, which each form an administrative grouping of cognate Faculties and other institutions. They are: 

School business is transacted through the Councils of the Schools, comprising senior representatives of the constituent Faculties and Departments in each School. At least one member of each Council is a member of the General Board.

Each School Council acts as a coordinating organisation for its group of Faculties and Departments. The Council is responsible for: 

  • the preparation of academic and financial plans, and reports;

  • the allocation of the funds made available to it by the General Board amongst the institutions of the School; 

  • working with the institutions of the School to ensure institutional and School academic plans are consistent, realistic, and affordable; 

  • consideration of any matter referred to the School Council by the General Board.

Meetings of each Council of the School take place six times per year, typically twice per term.

Each Council has a Head of School. The Head is the Chair of the Council of the School and the principal academic officer of the School and responsible to the Council of the School, the General Board, and the Vice-Chancellor for the overall running of the School, including the use of the funds and the implementation of the approved plans.

Faculties and Departments

University Faculties are formally responsible for the organisation of teaching and research as individual subjects or groups of subjects. Their work is normally organised into sub-divisions called Departments. Centres of studies are controlled by committees of management, bringing together representatives from several disciplines.

The formal constitution of Faculties and Departments is set out in Statute A and Special Ordinances under Statute C.