Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

School of the Humanities and Social Sciences

The Council of each School acts as a coordinating body for its group of Faculties and filters much of the academic business before transmission to the General Board. 

The Council of the School of the Humanities and Social Sciences

The Council of the School consists of the following members:

(a)  the Heads of the Departments of History and Philosophy of Science and of Land Economy, the Heads of the three Departments within the Faculty of Human, Social, and Political Science, and one person appointed by each of the Faculty Boards of Economics, Education, History, and Law;

(b)  an undergraduate and a graduate student representative.

The Council is chaired by the Head of the School and appoints a Deputy Head (Education) from amongst its membership.

Further information on the Council of the School, including meeting dates and minutes, can be found on the CSHSS website:

Council of the School meeting information »

School Committees

The Council has the following Committees:

  • Resource Committee
  • Research Committee
  • Graduate Committee
  • Undergraduate Committee.

The School Office

The School Office supports the Council and its Committees and, for example:

  • Social Science Research Strategy Group
  • ESRC Doctoral Training Centre
  • (Philomathia) Social Science Research Programme
  • Social Science Research Methods Centre
  • HSS Ethics Committee
  • Research Grant activity including Research Facilitators, Project Advisor, small grants and managed Researcher space
  • Faculty/Department administration

Useful links on the CSHSS website:


 Contact the School


School Office
School of the Humanities and Social Sciences
2nd Floor
17 Mill Lane
Cambridge CB2 1RX

Tel: 01223 766 238



Staff and contact information »


 Faculties and institutions