Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

School of Technology

The Council of each School acts as a coordinating body for its group of Faculties and filters much of the academic business before transmission to the General Board.

The School of Technology comprises of the Faculties of Business and Management, of Computer Science and Technology, and of Engineering, the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, and the University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership.  

The Council of the School of Technology

The Council of the School consists of the following members:

  • the Heads of the Departments within the School

  • one member appointed by each of the Faculty Boards and the Syndicate within the School

  • the Head of School, who is also appointed to the General Board

  • members co-opted by the Council of the School (e.g. Heads of Division in the Department of Engineering)

  • an undergraduate and a graduate student representative.

The Head of the School chairs the meetings of the Council of the School, with the Secretary of the School being the Secretary and the Chairs of School level Committees attending as observers. 

Other committees

The School level committees with formal terms of reference are:

  • Needs Committee

  • Graduate School Committee

  • Undergraduate Education Committee

  • Research Committee

  • HR Committee

  • IT Strategy Committee

There are also a number of working groups and fora that provide the focus for discussions.


 Contact the School


School Office
School of Technology
17 Mill Lane

Tel: 01223 332 795



Staff and contact information »


 Faculties and institutions