Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

School of the Physical Sciences

The aim of the School of the Physical Sciences is to contribute to our understanding of the physical world through excellence in observational, theoretical and experimental science and to extend quantitative, qualitative and combined methodologies to address problems in the fields of biology, technology, medicine, social science and the humanities. In pursuit of these goals, the School coordinates objectives in research, teaching and infrastructure.

The School of the Physical Sciences comprises:

The Faculty of Mathematics including: Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP) and Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics (DPMMS).

The Isaac Newton Institute of Mathematical Sciences is also part of the School.

The Faculty of Physics and Chemistry including: Chemistry, Institute of Astronomy, Materials Science & Metallurgy and Physics (Cavendish Laboratory).

The Faculty of Earth Sciences and Geography including: Earth Sciences and Geography (including the Scott Polar Research Institute).

The Council of the School of the Physical Sciences

Formal representation on the Council of the School, the School's most senior decision-making body, is outlined in Chapter VIII of the University's Statutes and Ordinances.

Current Council of the School membership »


School Committees

Further School-level committees with formal Terms of Reference are:

  • Needs Committee

  • Graduate Education Committee

  • Undergraduate Education Committee

  • Ethics Committee

  • IT Committee

  • REF2021 Committee

  • Equality and Diversity Forum

The above committees all report to the Council of School. There are also a number of working groups and fora that provide the focus for discussions.

Useful links on the School's website: