Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Business Committee Membership

The Business Committee is made up of (a) four or five members of the Council in classes (a), (b) or (c) - being  heads of house, professors or readers, or members of the Regent House; and (b) one of the Council's student members. The student member attends only for items of unreserved business.

The Secretary of the Committee is the University Draftsman (as Senior Assistant Registrary), and the Head of the Governance and Compliance Division (as Assistant Secretary to the Council) has a right to attend meetings.

Members are appointed by the Council shortly after the biennial December Council elections and serve for two years from 1 January. The student member, whose term on the Council begins on 1 July each year, is appointed to the Business Committee shortly afterwards and serves until 30 June the following year.

Current members and attendees:

 Chair of the Business Committee


 Business Committee members - reserved and unreserved business


 Business Committee student member - unreserved business only


 Business Committee Secretary and attending officers