Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

The Regent House and the Senate


The Regent House

The Regent House is the governing body of the University, and is the principal electoral constituency of the University. The members of the Regent House at any given time are those persons whose names were on the Roll of the Regent House at the last promulgation (i.e. public announcement in a special edition of the Reporter). The Roll is promulgated each year on the fifth weekday in November; membership comprises over 7,200 members. The Clerk of the Roll of the Regent House (Julia Copson, is responsible for ensuring an up-to-date list of members.

Further information on the role of the Regent House and the responsibilities of its members:

The Regent House (booklet/guide) - 2022


The Senate

Until the early part of the 20th century, the Senate was the principal legislative authority of the University. In 1926, the key governing body became the Regent House, but prior to then, the Senate played an important and active role in the governance of the University.

Today, the Senate’s principal responsibility is to elect the Chancellor of the University, most recently exercised with the election of Lord Sainsbury of Turville in 2011. The Senate is also responsible for electing the High Steward, and has the duty to enact Ordinances regulating its own procedure.

The Senate comprises all members of the University who have an M.A. or higher degree (e.g. a Doctor’s degree or Bachelor of Divinity), the Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor, and all current members of the Regent House.

More information about the Senate is available in Statute A and in Chapter I of Statutes and Ordinances.