Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

About the Remuneration Committee

First established by the Council in 2007, the Remuneration Committee assists with the Council's responsibilities in connection with the determination of the stipends and salaries of some senior University staff, including the approval of market supplements over 10% for professorial and equivalent staff. The committee operates within defined reporting protocols to improve scrutiny, accountability, and transparency in discharging itsresponsibilities on behalf of the Council and its terms of reference were updated in 2019.

The main purpose of the Committee is to provide independent scrutiny to the operation of a fair, consistent, transparent, and effective system of remuneration for senior staff in support of the University's mission.


Ms Gaenor Bagley (Chair)

​Professor Dame Madeleine Atkins

Dr Neil Churchill

Professor Anthony Davenport

Dr Andrew Sanchez

Attending officers:

Professor Eilis Ferran (Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Institutional and International Relations)
Ms Emma Rampton (Secretary, Registrary)
Ms Andrea Hudson (Interim Director of Human Resources)
Mr Philip Willatt​​ (Head of Reward)